Techno Tokyo Trip (Part 3)

February 6, 2008 at 10:36 pm 5 comments

As I mentioned last post, I bought myself a real goodie from Akihabara. Something I’ve long been working for so it was high time to reward myself with this, ehem, investment.

D200 Body (Front)
D200 Body (Back)

Ta da! Introducing the D200 from Nikon’s prosumer line. This hefty monster feels right in my hands, and the magnesium alloy body really feels solid, sturdy and can take a real beating before giving up the ghost.

I was able to pick one up from Sofmap in Akihabara second-hand for a price almost half off of a tag price on the cheap price range (Hint: brand new body-only price is around Y160K). So why did I pick up a 2nd hand D200 instead of a brand new D40x which I could get for even less, lens included (I think I could have also afforded the D80 kit as well)?

I was not looking for an entry-level camera. I’ve had prior practice on film with my trusty, if not comparitively simplistic, F55D film camera. So, while I knew that a ton of features do not a good picture make, at the very least I needed camera that can keep up with my needs.

The D40 was also much more pickier with lenses, since their lens mounts do not have the built-in focus drive motors, and since I had a few lenses already, I did not want to put them out of use and invest in new AF-S and AF-I lenses. And while I often do manual focus, you will have to love the autofocus speed and control you get with the D200’s 11-area TTL focus.

The D200’s built-in flash can also be used as a commander unit for use with Nikon’s Creative Lighting System. In other words, you can control an SB-600/SB-800 flash remotely without the need for additional equipment, save for the flash unit itself of course. The only other cameras that can do this is the D70, but it was already aging and has a smaller LCD screen.

D200 As Commander

So why buy a 2-year old product second-hand? Simply put, it gets all the technology I need in my hands at the right price. Since the D300 just got introduced, people who have lots of money or people who think they need features that the D200 lacks would be strolling off with their new buys. I on the other hand have done my homework and am confident to say I don’t need those 3 or 4 bells and whistles for more than twice the price. Besides, I’m in Japan so I’m pretty confident when the tag doesn’t indicate any damage that the previous owner took care of this D200. Plus Japanese are known to be prone to upgrade quickly, so that’s good enough for me. 🙂

Edit: I just found out that my D200’s shutter actuations was only less than 28K when I bought it! Yippee!:D

Social Bookmarks:
Entry filed under: Lifestyle, Photography, Tech Stuff.

Techno Tokyo Trip (Part 2) New Photo Gear Page

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aaron Wakling  |  February 6, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

    Reply
  • 2. Kiks  |  February 9, 2008 at 7:28 am

    a very wise purchase my friend.. congrats.. 😀

    Reply
  • 3. punongbisyonaryo  |  February 9, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks! We should get out and shoot sometime. I’m sure it’d be fun.:)

    Reply
  • […] Nikon D200 […]

    Reply
  • 5. Arntr  |  September 5, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    need to get an owners manual for a NIKON COLORPIX 2100 digital camera, where can I get one?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

My del.icio.us (Click for more)


