Replacing My Asus L3H’s Memory (or What TO DO When You Buy New Stuff)

July 21, 2007 at 8:11 pm Leave a comment

A week ago I bought another 512MB RAM for my laptop, since the other 512MB RAM I brought with me was not working properly. From the lessons that I learned since my last post (What NOT To Do…), I installed and tested the memory as soon as I got home. As before, the 256MB memory that came with my notebook was installed in the back slot, and I couldn’t figure out how to get to the top slot. So I took out the 256MB, stored it, and put in the 512MB memory.

After searching through the AsusTek forums, I found out how to remove the keyboard from Joel’s corner. One ScrewAll I needed to know was one screw — the one beside the motherboard fan — was needed to be removed before I could remove my keyboard. Unfortunately,My Screwdriver’s Not Long Enough! my pen screwdriver was too short to reach that darn screw. Not to worry though, I brought my handy pocket knife.

Handy Dandy Pocket Knife

The Front Panel ReleaseWith that screw out of the way, next step is to remove the front panel. Switching the screwdriver on my pen screwdriver to the smallest ‘driver, I push the front panel release, and afterwards, Front Panel and Keyboard RemovedI slide the keyboard up and away, revealing the memory slot compartment. In the upper-right corner I also noticed the miniPCI WiFi compartment, available in the L3C. Of course,

Empty MiniPCI Wifi Slot

my L3H only had an empty compartment, but now I know that I can possibly buy and put in a miniPCI WiFi card.

The memory slot is covered by a metal plate, held by one screw, which we promptly remove to reveal that slot. Now we go on to actually putting in the memory, which is a simple process of sliding the memory firmly into the slot

Insert RAM

(I had to exert quite a bit of effort as the memory wouldn’t go in at first), and then push down until you hear the click of the locks.

 

 

Putting it all back is a simple matter of reversing the process, though I recommend you keep it open for now. In my case, it didn’t detect myBack Slot and the Processor memory at first. These memory modules just need a little nudge sometimes to get it to work. Meanwhile, just for your sake I took pictures of the back compartment as well, where the Back Memory Slotmemory I bought last week sits contently. Here we see the processor fan over the processor and just below it is the memory slot.

The first test that you should do is the BIOS test, which is basically checking if your BIOS can see your memory. Check Your BIOSIf it can’t see your upgrade, there’s no point doing a memory test in the first place. If it doesn’t see it, try nudging your memory or re-slotting (learned that from my SO) your memory until BIOS sees it.

What I failed to do with the first 512MB memory module (the broken one), Ubuntu CD Startupaside from installing to immediately which might have saved it from damage, is to test the memory whether it was being read and written to reliably. Thankfully, my Ubuntu CD has a memory test tool built-in. If you’re unfortunate enough to only have a Windows CD, you can also test your memory using the tried-and-true BSOD Test Method. Put in your Windows XP CD, try to install it, and if you get a Blue Screen Of Death, you MAY have a broken memory module. Of course, there are other possible reasons for the BSOD. I’ve tried this method when I tried installing Windows to VMWare Player and certify it to work, guaranteed.

Memory TestAnyway, after booting off your Ubuntu CD, select memory test, and do at least one pass. It may take a lot of time, depending on speed and amount of memory you have, but it’s worth the peace of mind. Trust me on that one.

After putting back the lid on your computer and testing everything, it’s time to reap the benefits of your hard labor. So just sit back, relax, and enjoy the speed benefits of that added RAM. My computer can now run Ubuntu with a virtual Windows XP machine without breaking a sweat.

More Memory

A note though, if you’re a Vista user/follower, 768MBs of RAM ain’t gonna do you any good. You can barely run ONE operating system with that, let alone run a virtual machine alongside it. At 1Gig minimum specs required, try 2Gb if you want it to perform well, as opposed to being just “usable”. No, make that 3Gb.

Social Bookmarks:

Entry filed under: Linux Stuff, Tech Stuff.

What NOT To Do When You Buy New Stuff Little Speaker Cube

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

My del.icio.us (Click for more)


