What NOT To Do When You Buy New Stuff

July 8, 2007 at 10:56 am 4 comments

おひさしぶり! It’s been almost a month since my last post, my day job kept me from writing and…well, pretty much doing anything aside from work was impossible. Anyway, I’m here now, and I’m gonna start light with just some ramblings.

What do you usually do when you buy a piece of hardware? You go straight home to see if what you spent on with your hard-earned money was worth it, or if it’s working at all in the first place. What you don’t do, is take that piece of hardware, say a memory module for your laptop, put it in your bag (yes, in your bag. No, I didn’t say install it in your laptop, fool, put it in your bag. Yeah, that one, over there!), fly off to a far off country, and stay there for a couple of weeks, which is exactly what I did. All would be happy and fine if it worked perfectly, but it didn’t. Right now, I’m wondering what to do: do I send it back to my country for warranty replacement? Is it even worth it? Well, at the cost of 4,000 yen, I’d be much better off buying a new one.

Well, that’s it for now. Keep tuned in, I’m gonna be trying some webcam solutions on Linux, so I might write about that some time, or maybe about some neat photography tools I found.

For now, check out this cool video of human synced pixels. Thanks to Allen for this one.:)

Social Bookmarks:

Entry filed under: Entertainment, Lifestyle.

Linux Photo Tools Replacing My Asus L3H’s Memory (or What TO DO When You Buy New Stuff)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elle Cross  |  July 8, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    “Yes, in your bag. No, I didn’t say install it in your laptop, fool, put it in your bag. Yeah, that one, over there!” –> funnee. 😀

    Hehe. It should depend on how badly you need that stuff. Maybe you could buy one there so that you’d have something to use for the next month. Then when you get here in RP, you could return the old one back for a warranty replacement. Maybe you could sell it when it gets fixed. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Albert  |  July 9, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Hey, I realy liked the video, very nicely done I say.

    Anyway, assuming that was the 2002 FIFA World Cup opening, here’s Japan’s answer to that opening. 😀

    Enjoy 😀

    Reply
  • 3. Anton  |  July 18, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    dude, werent you excited to try it out as soon as you got home?

    well, lessons learned 🙂

    Reply
  • […] RAM I brought with me was not working properly. From the lessons that I learned since my last post (What NOT To Do…), I installed and tested the memory as soon as I got home. As before, the 256MB memory that came […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

My del.icio.us (Click for more)


